Feedback Feedback


News & Contingencies


Temporary Suspension of Dogs Entering the U.S. from Countries Considered at High Risk for Rabies

The US agency CDC (Customer and Diseases Control and Prevention) updates the list of airports that allow animals from countries considered to be at high risk of rabies infection into the United States.


As part of a transition process, from July 14 to October 14, 2021 (90 days), dogs from countries at high risk of rabies infection and with a CDC Dog Import Permit may enter the United States through airports other than New York City (JFK) airport. See "Considerations" for permitted entry airports.


Accordingly, and in order to prevent potential issues in the U.S., the carriage of animals (dogs) between the U.S. and any of the countries considered at risk will be suspended starting July 14, 2021 and until further notice.


Carriage of animals bound for the United States on flights starting July 14, 2021.

Date of Implementation:



The following is the list of countries affected by this measure:


Americas and Caribbean


Asia and Middle East, Eastern Europe

Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Peru, Suriname, Venezuela

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Camarões, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt (Notice of Temporary Suspension of Dogs Entering the United States from Egypt), Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini (Swaziland), Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania (includes Zanzibar), Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China (except Hong Kong and Taiwan), Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Moldova, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste (Timor Oriental), Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Yemen


For an updated list of countries, visit the following link:


In order to obtain entry authorization for importing a dog (AVIH, PETC and SVAN) from any of the high-risk countries during the temporary prohibition, the passenger or, if the dog is traveling alone, the importer must request written approval from the CDC through the CDC DOG IMPORT PERMIT at least 30 business days (6 weeks) before the intended entry into the United States.


In addition to JFK airport, dogs from countries at high risk for rabies are permitted to enter the United States through the following airports from July 14 to October 14, 2021:

  • Anchorage, Atlanta, Boston, Chicago (ORD), Dallas (DFW), Detroit, Honolulu, Houston (IAH), Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis, New York (JFK), Newark, Philadelphia, San Francisco, San Juan, Seattle, and Washington, DC (Dulles).

After October 14, 2021, dogs from high-risk countries that hold a CDC dog import license may only enter the United States through approved airports, as reported by the CDC at:

After receiving the CDC Import Permit, the passenger or the importer must present it upon arrival in the U.S.

  • The regular documentation required for bringing dogs from risk-free countries remains unchanged.
  • LATAM customers with a confirmed special service, ticket and AVIH and PETC EMD issued until June 18, 2021 for travel on or after July 14, 2021 may apply for the flexibilities indicated in Travel solutions for passengers with affected flights, just like affected passengers who need to reschedule their flight due to this measure.




Special Services - AVIH / PETC / SVAN